Introduction and the Ring Around the City

This is to be a blog about short walks in Punta Gorda Florida.  I try to take time to walk a mile or two every day just for the purpose of walking.  I do take longer hikes which are sometimes documented in my Nature/Photography blog – BirdsNBugs.  But this blog is just about the sights along the walking and biking paths of Punta Gorda.

Of course, I don’t walk anywhere without a camera and noticing the natural elements of my surroundings so, those will show up too.  Most of the images will be taken with a Nikon P7100 point and shoot camera but, I usually have a DSLR with a selection of lenses in the car and if I find something interesting, I go back for the big camera and turn my walk into a photoshoot.

The City of Punta Gorda is committed to the development of a series of walking, hiking and biking paths which will take you around the city in a couple of different ways.  The city refers to this as the Ring Around the City.  Each section is named and the ones identified to date are:

  • Harbor Walk
  • Linear Park
  • US 41 Bridges (over the Peace River)
  • Shreve Street Connector
  • Virginia Avenue Connector
  • Carmalita Street Connector
  • Southeast Connector

Some of these are accessible as existing sidewalks which will be upgraded over time to incorporate enough width for both cyclists and pedestrians to share the path.

There are plenty of other opportunities for walking in Punta Gorda though and I will try to cover those as well.  In fact, since the ring isn’t complete, I will likely cover several of those and other local parks before I get to the future ring components.

 

About birds n' bugs

Retired, living in SW Florida and spending my time at nature photography in my local area. I volunteer with a couple of local organizations to help my adopted home town. Travelling is now by airplane and car instead of a sailboat but happy anyway.
This entry was posted in Florida, Punta Gorda, Walk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

